Notifications
Clear all

[Solved] Utilizing Properties in TwinCAT 3

7 Posts
4 Users
4 Likes
Topic starter
(@time2learn)

I'm new to OOP and hope to use more of its principles in the future. While creating function blocks for my programs, I started to consider using properties to practice the OOP methodology. However, I feel that much of the data that I want to pass through properties can just as easily be VAR_IN and VAR_OUT variables.

How does one determine when to use properties within their function block? Thank you for your assistance!

6 Replies
ilyasskure
Admin
(@ilyasskure)

That's a great question! Before giving a simple example, it would be useful to explain a few things. Properties enables you to hide the data in your function block. This is called encapsulation, which is making sure the 'sensitive' data is hidden from the users. To achieve this, you use 'private' access specifiers.

There are 4 access specifiers you can use in TwinCAT 3:

accessSpecifier

PUBLIC It doesn't restrict anything and the property or method can be accessed outside the function block.

PRIVATE The property or method can be accessed only within the function block. No outside access is allowed. (Encapsulation)

PROTECTED Access is allowed only within the 'inheritance family'

INTERNAL Access is limited to the same library (namespace).

Properties have two methods called getters(read) and setters(write). They are called as accessors together. You can declare local variables in these methods, however their values get lost on exiting. No input or output declaration is allowed in property accessors. If you want your property to be read only, you can delete the set method and if you want it to be write only, you can delete the get method. 

In the get and set methods, you can implement scaling, error check, range check or unit conversion functionalities.

For example, let's imagine you have a 'Pick' function block in your application.

fbpick