18 Posts
5 Users
11 Likes
raoliveira
Topic starter
(@raoliveira)
Eminent Member

Hei there huys.

I will open this topic in this "sub"forum because i think it suits here, but the admin could move it if this is not the right place :-).

So, like i said yesterday, i'm encharged to built a Source Control Environment for our Beckhoff PLCs and some other (german) brand. In this topic i'll try to mention my progress everytime i can, but for now i will tell what i have done in this past 2 weeks...for now.

Like i said, i'm new to the PLC world, but it's software :-), so, it should be easier adaptation since i have the previous (backend C#, Java, Python, JavaScript, bla bla...) knowledge.

Short resume for the environment requirements:

* Version Control;

* CI/CD;

* Pipelines;

* Unit tests;

* I/O tests;

* Safety tests;

* Metrics;

* Analytics;

At the moment my tests are laid down to GitHub, GitLab, Jenkins and Azure. Tests are beeing made in a VMachine and sometimes without VM. Already played a little bit with VersionDog and i'm still waiting for a 2nd meeting with the guys from Copia. All of these technologies are trial software, so as you can imagine it's a painfull task to test/experiment/use and abuse of these tools to achieve the best for the company interests.

Following the blog from the great Jakob Sagatowski - https://alltwincat.com/author/jakob/, i could say it was a really good start.

I successfully achieve the task of run TcUnit - Runner framework to make the Unit Tests (with GitHub Actions and Jenkins also, Azure haven't got the time yet), but this is only the first step, there's still a long path. Of course i have play with all of the options available by Jakob regarding Jenkins slave and solving some issues regarding to comunications between these technologies and some other problems that hate my last few hairs :-(, but hey, this is why it is called engineering right :-)?!